MLS Cup 2021 hosting scenarios: Here's which teams can still host the final |

by 24USATVNov. 25, 2021, 11 a.m. 18

The road to MLS Cup 2021 on Dec. 11 runs through Gillette Stadium and the New England Revolution.

Hosting priority goes in order of the Supporters' Shield table, and New England get first dibs after pacing the way with 73 points, a new MLS single-season record. As long as they're still in the postseason, the Philip F. Anschutz Trophy will be lifted in Foxborough.

But if the Revs are eliminated, then hosting priority shifts from the Eastern Conference leaders to a trio of Western Conference sides in Colorado, Sporting KC and Portland.

The only team that can't host MLS Cup, provided they're still in the running, is West No. 7 seed Real Salt Lake. Of the eight remaining Conference Semifinalists, now that Round One games are over, their 48 points were 13th in the Shield race.

Phrased another way: points from the regular season matter, especially when a championship's on the line.

Here's the full hosting order for the remaining clubs:


Related Articles


Will I Ever Watch ‘Succession’ the Same Way?

by 24USATVDec. 7, 2021, 3 a.m.2

Flyers Fire Head Coach Alain Vigneault

by 24USATVDec. 7, 2021, 1 a.m.2

Kamala Harris is a 'bully,' former staffer tells the Washington Post

by 24USATVDec. 7, 2021, midnight2