Xavi bemoans referee after Barcelona's loss to Inter
Barcelona head coach Xavi called on referee Slavko Vincic to explain himself after the Slovenian failed to award his side a last-minute penalty in their Champions League defeat by Inter Milan.
Xavi’s side were 1-0 down in added time at San Siro on Tuesday night and thought they should have had a penalty when Inter’s Denzel Dumfries appeared to handle the ball in the area as he tried to head it away from Ansu Fati.
But Vincic waved play on and although there was a VAR check, no penalty was awarded.
“It was crucial but I cannot say anything, I did not decide anything,” Xavi told beIN SPORTS after the match. “The referee decided and he must be here to talk about what happened.”
Hakan Calhanoglu scored the only goal of the game with a shot from outside the box in first-half added time.
Pedri thought he had equalised for Barcelona in the 67th minute, but his goal was ruled out by the VAR after judging that Fati had handled the ball before the midfielder scored. Xavi was subsequently booked in protest.